Bates Athletics to honor 38 graduates as Senior Scholars

Nordic skier Nathan Moreau (left) and golfer Sarah Centanni are the recipients of the 2017 Milton L. Lindholm Scholar-Athlete Award for maintaining the highest cumulative grade point average among graduating varsity athletes. (Kevin McHugh)

LEWISTON, Maine -- The Bates College Department of Athletics will honor 38 graduating student-athletes with a Senior Scholar Award, in addition to presenting other year-end honors, at the Senior Athlete Recognition Ceremony, taking place Saturday, May 27 at 5 p.m. in Alumni Gymnasium, preceded by a reception at 4:30pm.

All graduates-to-be from Bates' Class of 2017 who participated in varsity sports at Bates and their families are encouraged to attend.

The Senior Scholar Award will be presented to 38 seniors who have participated in varsity sports for four years and have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or above.

The ceremony will also include the Senior Sportsmanship Award and Milton L. Lindholm Scholar-Athlete Award winners. (Presentation of the male and female Athlete of the Year award has been moved to fall 2017.)

The 38 Senior Scholar Award winners from the Class of 2016 include women's golfer Sarah Centanni (Hingham, Mass.) and Nordic skier Nathan Moreau (Falmouth, Maine), recipients of the Lindholm awards as the female and male varsity letter-winning athletes with the highest cumulative grade point averages. 

The graduating honorees also include Sean Antonuccio (football), Abbey Bierman (women's rowing), Kent Byrd (men's lacrosse), Charlotte Cabot (women's squash), Molly Chisholm (women's cross country, track and field), Allie Coppola (women's basketball), Jack Dina (men's swimming), Joe Doyle (men's cross country, track and field), Chris Ellis (men's tennis), Elizabeth Erbafina (women's tennis), Evan Ferguson-Hull (men's cross country, track and field), Laurel Fiddler (Nordic skiing), Penelope Ganske (women's golf), Sophia Gottlieb (women's rowing), Colin Kraft (men's track and field), Chase Lis (men's swimming), Max Millslagle (Nordic skiing), William Nelson (men's rowing), Jonathan Neufeld (men's tennis), Ashley Pollack (women's cross country, track and field), Molly Pritz (women's rowing), Mitchell Rider (men's swimming), Josh Rines (men's swimming), Wade Rosko (Nordic skiing), Andrew Segal (football), Julia Smachlo (women's swimming), Alex Stekler (men's golf), Katherine Stevenson (women's diving), Hannah Tardie (volleyball), Katherine Traquina (women's rowing), Mark Upton (football), Jake Walsh (men's lacrosse), Kyle Weber (men's lacrosse), Benjamin Whitehead (men's rowing), Hannah Wilson (women's cross country, track and field), and Jessica Wilson (women's cross country, track and field).

A whopping 13 of the Senior Scholar Award winners -- Coppola (Tarrytown, N.Y.), Dina (Kenilworth, Ill.), Ellis (Shrewsbury, Mass.), Ferguson-Hull (West Hartford, Conn.), Kraft (Northborough, Mass.), Pritz (Ithaca, N.Y.), Smachlo (Rexford, N.Y.), Traquina (Wayland, Mass.), Upton (Winthrop, Mass.), Walsh (Baltimore, Md.), Weber (Chagrin Falls, Ohio), Whitehead (Shaker Heights, Ohio) and Jessica Wilson (Cumberland, Maine) -- have claimed All-America and/or all-conference honors over the course of their collegiate careers, up from last year's total of five.