2005 Induction Ceremony

The inaugural ceremony honored four alumni, a retired Bates athletics director, 26 students, and a leading figure on the national collegiate scene. Recognizing the best of college sport, the inaugural ceremony of the Bates College Scholar-Athlete Society, held May 28 during Commencement Weekend, honored four alumni, a retired Bates athletics director, 26 members of the Class of 2005, and a leading figure on the national collegiate scene. The students represented 16 academic majors, 20 sports and 10 U.S. states. Nine have been captains, three were Milton Lindholm Student-Athlete winners, one was a George Wigton Scholar, and one is the reigning Female Athlete of the Year. The alumni honorees were Romalda Clark Blanchard '90Ralph Perry '51Herbert B. Taylor '84 and Janet Swallow Young '69. Robert Hatch was honored as the faculty member who, during a 42-year tenure as coach and athletics director, developed Bates' broad and inclusive varsity athletics program. Donald "Dee" Rowe, legendary former Worcester Academy and University of Connecticut basketball coach, delivered the keynote address and was inducted as the society's first honorary member.

Inaugural members of the Bates College Scholar-Athlete Society

  • Joel D. Anderson, New Brighton Minn., history, cross country (3 years), indoor track (4 years), outdoor track (4 years), Milton L. Lindholm Scholar-Athlete Award
  • Sarah M. Baldwin, Arlington, Mass., biology, swimming (4 years), Milton L. Lindholm Scholar-Athlete Award
  • Erin M. Bednarek, Holden, Mass., interdisciplinary, tennis (3 years)
  • Siri R. Berman, Easton, Mass., psychology, soccer (4 years, captain)
  • Heather M. Bracken, Pittsburgh, Pa., mathematics, tennis (4 years, captain)
  • Katherine M. Cresswell, Portland, Ore., environmental studies, cross country (4 years, captain), indoor track (4 years, captain), outdoor track (4 years, captain)
  • Rebecca C. Dessain, Lincoln, Mass., sociology, soccer (3 years)
  • Cara E. Howieson, Holliston, Mass., biology/philosophy, soccer (4 years)
  • Kristen E. Johnson, Denver, Colo., religion, volleyball (3 years, captain)
  • Dayna A. Krakower, Rockville, Md, sociology, softball (3 years), field hockey (3 years)
  • Laurie I. Lau, Honolulu, Hawaii, psychology, rowing (3 years)
  • Elliott B. Linsley, Murrieta Calif., economics, basketball (4 years, captain), outdoor track (3 years), George Wigton Scholar Award
  • Jennifer W. Loring, Beverly Farms, Mass., art, squash (4 years)
  • Kevin J. Madden, Concord, N.H., political science, football (4 years, captain)
  • Graham A. Marsh, Mashpee, Mass., physics, rowing (3 years)
  • Leslie K. Milk, Elma, N.Y., physics, rowing (2 years), cross country (2 years, captain), indoor track (2 years), outdoor track (1 year)
  • E. Daniel Ross, Chevy Chase, Md., economics, lacross (4 years, captain)
  • Kara K. Seaton, Wayne, Pa., psychology, swimming (4 years)
  • Stephanie L. Shokal, Concord, N.H., Spanish, volleyball (4 years)
  • Margaret W. Smith, Stevenson, Md., history, squash (4 years, captain)
  • Daniel A. Vannoni, Winthrop, Mass., economics, indoor track (3 years), outdoor track (2 years)
  • Caitlin J. Vincent, Derry, N.H., biological chemistry, basketball (3 years)
  • Sienna C. Vorono, San Francisco, Calif., psychology, rowing (4 years)
  • Jacob Wells-Bundtzen, Williamstown, Mass., history, indoor track (3 years), outdoor track (3 years)
  • Allison M. Wensley, Rochester, N.H., chemistry, swimming (4 years), Milton L. Lindholm Scholar-Athlete Award
  • Alexander B. Wolff, Lincoln, Mass., economics, soccer (4 years, captain), squash (4 years, captain)
  • Olivia S. Zurek, Arlington Mass., neuroscience, volleyball (4 years, captain), basketball (4 years, captain), 2004-05 Female Athlete of the Year

The Scholar-Athlete Society includes graduating seniors who have compiled a 3.5 grade average or have received a special nomination from faculty and/or staff for distinguished academic achievement in their junior and senior years. To be eligible for induction, student-athletes must participate in varsity sports for at least three years. As well as honoring students as they graduate, alumni who distinguish themselves as scholars and athletes and subsequently in their careers will also be inducted at the annual ceremony. In addition, one faculty member or former Bates coach who has fostered the scholar-athlete ideal will be recognized.

Read More