2006 Induction Ceremony

The second annual ceremony honored 26 students, five alumni, and one faculty member.

The second annual ceremony of the Bates College Scholar-Athlete Society was held May 27 during Commencement Weekend, honoring five alumni, a faculty member and 26 members of the Class of 2006. The keynote address was delivered by Ndidi Massay, general manager and editorial consultant at ESPN the Magazine and a national figure in sports and entertainment law and marketing. The society’s Class of 2006 represented 11 academic majors, 18 varsity teams and 11 U.S. states. This year's alumni inductees were Dr. Nancy Madsen Cummings '81, a former multi-sport standout who is now an orthopedic surgeon; Laurie Whitsel '87, a former soccer player who became the first woman to head the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, then went on to become the director of advocacy for the American Heart Association; N. John Douglas '60, a former track standout who is now the president of AIM Broadcasting; and Frank McGinty ’71, a former football player who is vice president and treasurer at Maine Health. The late Frank Keaney '11, a Basketball Hall of Fame coach at the University of Rhode Island and widely regarded as the architect of fast-break basketball, was also inducted. Richard Williamson, Charles A. Dana Professor Emeritus of French, was honored as the Bates faculty member who, during his long and wonderful career, championed the scholar-athlete ideal.

Ndidi Massay, general manager and editorial consultant at ESPN the Magazine and a national figure in sports and entertainment law and marketing.

The Bates College Scholar-Athlete Society Class of 2006

  • Timothy B. Austin, Chesterland, Ohio, economics, rowing, Milton Lindholm Scholar-Athlete Award
  • Gabriel J. Belsky, Avon, Conn., psychology, lacrosse
  • Jacob S. Berkowitz, Blue Hill, Maine, political science, golf
  • Joel W. Colony, Harrisville, N.H., religion, indoor track and field (captain), outdoor track and field (captain)
  • Erin V. Culbreth, Montclair, N.J., history, lacrosse, IWLCA Academic Honor Roll
  • Emily S. Davie, Westwood, Mass., biological chemistry, indoor track and field, outdoor track and field
  • David C. Desjardins, Wallingford, Conn., anthropology, cross country
  • Katherine M. Gatti, Chelmsford, Mass., sociology, swimming (captain)
  • Megan E. Germscheid, Little Falls, Minn., biological chemistry, rowing, Nordic skiing
  • Megan L. Hamilton, Dover, N.H., English, cross country, indoor track and field, outdoor track and field
  • Matthew C. Harrington, Tucson, Ariz., English, swimming (captain)
  • Meghan D. Helliesen, Exeter, N.H., psychology, cross country, indoor track and field, outdoor track and field, All-New England Division III, All-ECAC
  • Emily A. Hoffer, Danville, Vt., political science, rowing (captain)
  • Adam P. Jaskievic, East Longmeadow, Mass., Spanish, rowing
  • Cynthia A. Mauer, Wayland, Mass., economics, indoor track and field, outdoor track and field
  • Stormont F. Qua, Cambridge, N.Y., history, swimming (captain)
  • Marcia E. Reinauer, North Granby, Conn., English, cross country
  • Elizabeth M. Santy, New Haven, Conn., psychology, volleyball (captain)
  • David C. Shear, Concord, Mass., economics, soccer (captain), First Team All-NESCAC
  • Kristina S. Ten Haagen, Newington, N.H., psychology, swimming (captain)
  • Shannon E. Tully, Needham, Mass., psychology, lacrosse (captain), Spirit of ’78 Award, IWLCA Academic Honor Roll
  • Katharina R. Unger, Concord, N.H., biological chemistry, swimming, lacrosse (captain), IWLCA Academic Honor Roll
  • Ashley L. Wentworth, North Andover, Mass., sociology, indoor track and field (captain), outdoor track and field (captain), three-time All-NESCAC, Milton Lindholm Scholar-Athlete Award
  • Kimberly J. Whipkey, Portland, Maine, sociology, cross country (captain), indoor track and field, outdoor track and field
  • Anne B. Whiting, Contoocook, N.H., neuroscience, basketball (captain), Evelyn K. Dillon Award

The Bates Scholar-Athlete Society was created in 2005 to underscore the College's commitment to the scholar-athlete ideal. The Society includes seniors nominated by their coaches who have compiled a 3.5 grade point average or have received a special nomination from faculty and staff for distinguished academic achievement in their junior and senior years. To be eligible for induction, student-athletes must participate in a varsity sport for at least three years.

Read More