11 Bobcats named to NFHCA academic squad

Polly Merck '14 (pictured) and Sarah Warden '14 both earned NFHCA National Academic Squad honors for the fourth time in their careers. (File photo by Phyllis Graber Jensen/Bates College)

LEWISTON, Maine -- Eleven members of the Bates field hockey team were named to the 2013 Gladiator/National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) National Academic Squad, announced this week. The National Academic Squad program recognizes those collegiate student-athletes who have achieved a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.30 through the first semester of the 2013-14 academic year.

Bates' honored athletes included two four-year award recipients, in co-captains Polly Merck (Beverly, Mass.) and Sarah Warden (North Andover, Mass.). 

Juniors Jill Conway (Andover, Mass.) and Caroline Falcone (New Canaan, Conn.) both gained National Academic Squad honors for a third time. Receiving the honor for a second time were senior Bridget Meedzan (Ipswich, Mass.) and sophomore Hannah Beinecke (Manchester, Mass.). Bates' four first-time recipients comprised Isobel Curtis (Fairfield, Conn.), Kat Harling (Long Island City, N.Y.), Casey Oehler (Wallingford, Pa.) and Lauren Williams (Buluwayo, Zimbabwe).

In addition to the individual accolades, Bates was one of 121 Division III teams to earn the 2013 NFHCA Division IIII National Academic Team Award. This award recognizes those institutions that achieve a minimum GPA of 3.0 during the first semester of the 2013-14 academic year.

2013 DIII National Academic Team 

2013 DIII National Academic Squad