Thirteen Bobcats named to NFHCA academic squad

Alyssa Alexander was named to the NFHCA National Academic Squad for the third time in her career. (File photo by Phyllis Graber Jensen/Bates College)  

LEWISTON, Maine -- Thirteen members of the Bates field hockey team were named to the 2016 ZAG Field Hockey/NFHCA National Academic Squad, announced Thursday by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association.

The National Academic Squad includes student-athletes who have achieved a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.30 through the first semester of the 2016-17 academic year.

Winning the award for a third time in their respective careers were juniors Alyssa Alexander (Millstone, N.J.), Sydney Beres (New York, N.Y.), and Delaney Nalen (Greenwood Village, Colo.). Winning it for a second time were junior Samantha Reiss (New Haven, Vt.) and sophomores Taylor Lough (Little Compton, R.I.), Shelbie McCormack (Tyngsborough, Mass.) and Jessie Moriarty (Springfield, Mass.). 

Sophomore Caroline Barnes (Saratoga Springs, N.Y.), first-year Abigail Ford (Wells, Maine), first-year Isa Garcia-Moreno (Baltimore, Md.), first-year Alexa Jurgeleit (Barrington, R.I.), first-year Hannah McLane (Darien, Conn.) and first-year Alyssa Souza (Scarborough, Maine) round out the Bobcats' list of awardees.

In addition to the individual accolades, Bates was one of 124 Division III teams to earn the 2016 NFHCA Division IIII National Academic Team Award. This award recognizes those institutions that achieve a minimum GPA of 3.0 during the first semester of the 2016-17 academic year.

Bates finished the 2016 season with its first winning record since 1999, at 9-7.

2016 DIII National Academic Team Award

2016 DIII National Academic Squad