Men's soccer presents end-of-season team awards




LEWISTON, Maine -- Senior captain John Murphy was named Team MVP for the 2012 season, as the Bates men's soccer team presented their end-of-season awards.

Bates completed a 4-8-2 season in 2012, with highlights being a 2-0 win at Middlebury and 0-0 draw's against 2011 NESCAC finalist Trinity and Connecticut College. Out of conference, the Bobcats beat GNAC champion St. Joe's (3-1), NAC champion Thomas (1-0) and Southern Maine (5-1).

The Bobcats presented six awards awards, with four different players receiving recognition.

Team MVP

John Murphy '13 (Yarmouth, Maine): The left midfielder started all 14 games for the Bobcats and racked up some impressive stats in the process.  Murphy was second in NESCAC for goals (8), assists (5), points (21) and led the conference with 64 shots.

Murphy was also voted to the All-NESCAC Second Team, and was selected by coaches for the NEISL All-Star game at Harvard University (in which he started and played well). Murphy will attend the InfoSport Pro Combine in Florida during January.

Rookie of the Year

Joseph Maffly-Kipp '16 (Chapel Hill, N.C.): Maffly-Kipp won the goalkeeping job with the Bobcats after beating out stiff competition from two fellow freshmen. The young goalkeeper played in six games for the Bobcats, and finished third in NESCAC with 46 saves, an average of over nine saves a game.

Maffly-Kipp also registered shutouts against Connecticut College and Middlebury. During the 0-0 Conn College draw, he stonewalled an 86th-minute penalty shot to preserve the first NESCAC point of the season for the Bobcats.

Most Improved Player

Dan Remillard '14 (Hanover, N.H.): The center defender started every game in the heart of the Bobcat defense. Showing an improved toughness, positional sense and ball-winning ability, Remillard anchored the Bobcats to four shutouts with Middlebury, Trinity, Connecticut College and Thomas going scoreless against Bates.

Alumni Award

Griffin Wagner '13 (Longmeadow, Mass.): The Alumni Award is granted every year to a player on the team who embodies the required attitude, passion and humility required to succeed. Left defender Griffin Wagner won the award after "spending all season as a walking example of what it means to be a Bobcat," according to head coach Stewart Flaherty. Wagner captained Bates in its 5-1 win at USM, the team's biggest win of the season.

The Bob Lanz Golden Boot Award

John Murphy: Named after the program's all-time leading goal scorer, the Bob Lanz Golden Boot is presented to the Bates player who scores the most goals in a season. Murphy's final tally of eight goals included a game-winning goal against St. Joseph's, and both goals in Bates' 2-0 NESCAC victory at Middlebury.  The left winger also netted a hat trick in the win at USM.

First Captain's Award

Griffin Wagner: An award presented by the first-ever captain of the Bates team, Lee Nute '63. The award was given to Wagner for embodying all three of the program's professed key values: scholarship, leadership and service.