Five women’s lacrosse players gain All-Region

Wally Pierce '14 (left) earned IWLCA Pilgrim All-Region honors for the third time. (File photo by Phyllis Graber Jensen/Bates College)

LEWISTON, Maine – Bates women's lacrosse senior Wally Pierce earned First Team IWLCA Pilgrim All-Region honors while classmates Cat Dioli and Blair Shrewsbury and sophomores Cara Cappellini and Hannah Jeffrey each made the Second Team, the IWLCA announced on Monday.

Pierce (Weston, Mass.) captured All-Region accolades for the third season in a row. A two-time All-NESCAC selection and an IWLCA Third Team All-America honoree last season, Pierce led the Bobcats with 79 draw controls and 31 ground balls while ranking second on the team with 27 goals. She finished her career as Bates' all-time leader in career draw controls with 177.

Dioli (Ipswich, Mass.) picked up All-Region plaudits for the second time after a one-year hiatus. She started all 16 games for Bates on defense in 2014 and stood second on the team with 18 caused turnovers and fourth on the squad with 19 ground balls.

Shrewsbury (Boxford, Mass.) took home All-Region laurels on the heels of a campaign in which she paced the Bobcats with 29 goals. She started all 16 games on the year and ranked second on the team with 40 points and third with 11 assists.

In her first season of action, Cappellini (Manhasset, N.Y.) led the team in caused turnovers with 19 while ranking third in draw controls (18), tied for fourth in goals (17), and fifth in points (21). She played in all 16 games after missing all of her rookie campaign due to injury and also earned NESCAC Player of the Week honors on Mar. 10.

In her second season as Bates' starting goalie, Jeffrey (Greenwich, Conn.) earned First Team All-NESCAC honors and recorded 129 saves on the year (8.6 per game). She tallied a .527 save percentage and an 8.14 goals-against average during the season and posted 10 or more saves in each of seven games.

With their selection to All-Region Teams, all five players now become eligible to garner IWLCA All-America honors, which the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association will announce on May 19.