Women's tennis captain Silverman named a finalist for ITA leadership award

Maisie Silverman has been named one of four finalists for the inaugural ITA Ann Lebedeff Leadership Award. (File photo by Phyllis Graber Jensen/Bates College)

TEMPE, Ariz. –- Bates senior Maisie Silverman was named one of four finalists for the inaugural Ann Lebedeff Leadership Award, created by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association and endowed by the legendary Billie Jean King.

A two-year team captain and the lone senior on this year's Bates women's tennis team, Silverman (Brunswick, Maine) joins Nithya Kanagasegar (Case Western Reserve), Jake McCartney (Barton College), and David Warren (Rice) as one of four finalists.

The ITA Ann Lebedeff Leadership Award was created to honor a recent college graduate who played college tennis and demonstrated excellence on and off the court, leadership on his or her team as well as on his or her college campus and in his or her community. The annual recipient of the award will have demonstrated grit (i.e. passion and perseverance towards long-term goals), a commitment to social justice and equality and will have pushed others to be leaders in addition to demonstrating his or her own leadership.

On the court, Silverman has played No. 1 singles for the Bobcats for the past three seasons, moving up from No. 3 singles as a first-year student. She has played at No. 2 or No. 1 doubles throughout her college career. Away from the court, Silverman has initiated programs to introduce tennis to children in local elementary schools; she also serves on the Bates Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and volunteers for the Special Olympics.

The finalist's materials (i.e., personal statement, resume, letters from their coach, teammate and institution's President) will be submitted to the ITA Ann Lebedeff Leadership Award Selection Panel. The ITA Ann Lebedeff Leadership Award winner will be honored by the ITA at a special awards ceremony in addition to receiving a specially-engraved gift and post-graduate scholarship. The ITA will also donate $1,000 to the tennis program of the institution from which the award winner graduated.

ITA Ann Lebedeff Leadership Award Finalists