Women's cross country lands three on All-NESCAC team; Hamilton named Rookie of the Year

From left to right, Katherine Cook, Olivia LaMarche, and Ayden Eickhoff earned All-NESCAC honors, while Abby Hamilton was named NESCAC Rookie of the Year in women's cross country on Oct. 31, 2017. (Photos by Brewster Burns for Bates College)

HADLEY, Mass. -- Bates women's cross country had four team members honored Tuesday as the New England Small College Athletic Conference officially announced the All-NESCAC Cross Country Teams for 2017. Three members of the No. 14 nationally ranked Bobcats were named All-NESCAC, a team record, while a fourth Bobcat, Abby Hamilton, was named NESCAC Rookie of the Year.

Senior captain Katherine Cook (South Burlington, Vt.) received First Team All-NESCAC honors for her top-seven finish at Saturday's NESCAC Championships, hosted by Bates at Pineland Farms. Cook finished fourth overall in 22:05.0, leading the team to its fourth top-four team performance in the past six years at the meet. A Second Team All-NESCAC selection in 2016, when she placed 14th overall, Cook becomes Bates' first First Team honoree since Adelia Myrick in 1996.

Sophomore Olivia LaMarche (Lynnfield, Mass.) and junior Ayden Eickhoff (Corvallis, Mont.) earned Second Team All-NESCAC laurels after placing eighth and 14th, respectively, at the conference championship. LaMarche rose from a 39th-place showing as a first-year in 2016 and was the top sophomore finisher in the race this year, finishing the 6-kilometer course in 22:25.4. Eickhoff, a two-time All-American in track and field, continued her breakthrough cross country campaign, surging from 69th place at the 2016 meet to 14th place this year, in a time of 22:49.8.

Hamilton (Yarmouth, Maine) continued her outstanding first college cross country season, placing 21st to lead all first-year runners in the race, with a time of 23:12.1. Hamilton is the team's first-ever NESCAC Rookie of the Year.

Bates next competes at the NCAA New England Regionals, taking place Nov. 11 at Gorham (Maine) Country Club and hosted by the University of Southern Maine.

2017 NESCAC Cross Country All-Conference Teams