Bates' Cunningham receives Geppi-Aikens Memorial Award from IWLCA

Bates senior associate director of athletics Celine Cunningham displays the Dian Geppi-Aikens Memorial Award she received at the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association Honors Banquet on Nov. 13, 2018. (IWLCA courtesy photo)

ORLANDO, Fla. – Bates College senior associate director of athletics and senior woman administrator Celine Cunningham received the marquee honor Tuesday at the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association Honors Banquet.

Cunningham, the head coach of women's lacrosse at Stevens Institute of Technology from 2002 to 2018, received the Diane Geppi-Aikens Memorial Award, named in honor of the legendary Loyola coach whose courageous battle with cancer inspired the nation and recognizes lifetime achievement to the women's college game.

Cunningham retired from coaching at the conclusion of the 2018 season and was named the senior associate director of athletics at Bates. She concluded her coaching career at Stevens by guiding the Ducks to their third NCAA Tournament appearance. Cunningham compiled 202 victories over 16 seasons and won Empire 8 Conference Coach of the Year honors in 2009, 2011 and 2017. A chair of both the NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Committee and the Women's Lacrosse Rules Committee, Cunningham has served the IWLCA in several capacities, including the Division III All-American Committee and Chair of the Ethics Committee; she is currently an Emeritus member of the Hall of Fame Committee.

"I'm honored to be chosen to receive the Diane Geppi Aikens Memorial Award," Cunningham said. "I am incredibly humbled to be selected for an award that honors a woman whose ideas, passion and values I've always aspired to. To be included among the past recipients of the award that have made such a tremendous impact on our sport is extremely rewarding."