Scholar-Athlete Society inducts 43 new members

Speaking on behalf of his fellow alumni inductees, Peter Wyman addresses the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society Class of 2015 and audience in Olin Concert Hall on May 30, 2015. (Daryn Slover)

LEWISTON, Maine -- The 11th annual induction ceremony of the Bates College Scholar-Athlete Society was held in Olin Concert Hall on Saturday, May 30, 2015, during Commencement Weekend, honoring four alumni, longtime multi-sport coach Robert C. “Bob” Flynn, P'85, P'89, GP'14, GP'17, GP'17, and 37 members of the Class of 2015. The event's keynote speaker was Ben Schippers '04, who was also inducted into the society.

 This year's alumni inductees into the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society included:

  • Rachel Clayton '90, a three-sport standout at Bates who went on to play for the U.S. handball team before building a successful career in the culinary arts; 
  • Keelin Godsey '06, the most decorated athlete in Bates history, a 16-time All-American thrower for the women's track and field team who went on to place fifth in the hammer throw at the 2012 U.S. Olympic trials; 
  • Lynn Willsey '54, P'79, P'81, P'89, GP'18, a golf and basketball player at Bates who went on to serve as a Bates trustee for 19 years, enjoyed a 39-year business career and has become known for his many civic contributions; and 
  • Peter Wyman '86, a former baseball and football player at Bates, and current Vice President for Global Business Development for Ocean Spray, who has given back in countless ways to Bates and his hometown of Bridgewater, Massachusetts, and surrounding area.

Flynn, longtime fixture in Bates Athletics who has coached in many roles including, for the past two 15 years plus, assistant baseball and Nordic skiing coach, was this year's staff inductee.

The 37 Class of 2015 inductees to the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society include Elena Jay (track, cross country) and Sean McKenna (track), recipients of the 39th Milton L. Lindholm Scholar-Athlete awards as the male and female varsity letter-winning athletes with the highest cumulative grade point averages.

The graduating honorees also include: 

  • Jenna Armstrong (rowing), 
  • Sam Berry (baseball), 
  • Sarah Bouchard (swimming), 
  • Andrew Briggs (swimming), 
  • Brenna Callahan (softball), 
  • Evan Cooper (rowing), 
  • Michael Creedon (track, cross country), 
  • Meaghan Crowley (track), 
  • Aly Dowey (lacrosse), 
  • Caroline Falcone (field hockey),
  • Nicholas Flynn (rowing), 
  • Hallie Grossman (Nordic skiing), 
  • Alexander Hadiaris (rowing), 
  • Colin Jamerson (track), 
  • Emily Johnson (soccer), 
  • Emma Korein (squash), 
  • Henry Lee (tennis), 
  • Will Levangie (baseball), 
  • Peter Mihalcik (swimming), 
  • Amelia Oliver (track), 
  • Rebecca O'Neill (rowing), 
  • Zachary Polich (track, cross country), 
  • Nabil Saleem (squash), 
  • Lee Sandquist (soccer), 
  • Anne Schwarzwalder (swimming), 
  • Andrew Seaton (swimming), 
  • Matthew Silverman (rowing),
  • Alex Smachlo (swimming),
  • Quincy Snellings (women's track), 
  • John Stansel (track, cross country), 
  • Jason Stephansky (soccer), 
  • Zachary Trkla (soccer), 
  • Eric Wainman (track), 
  • Hannah Weiss (rowing) and 
  • Kathy Yannopoulos (lacrosse).