Seven Bates alpine skiers receive USCSCA All-Academic honors

Michael Cooper received USCSCA All-Academic honors on April 5, 2019. ( file photo)

DENVER -- Seven members of the Bates alpine ski teams were honored Friday, as the United States Collegiate Ski Coaches Association Friday announced the 278 members of the National Collegiate All-Academic Ski Team.

Junior Michael Cooper (Alta, Calif.), first-year Patrick Gallagher (Stowe, Vt.), sophomore Joe Gillis (Branford, Conn.), junior Annabel Mahon (Toorak, Australia), first-year Arie van Vuuren (Boulder, Colo.), sophomore Hannah West (Bend, Ore.) and junior Calvin Wilson (Canyon Dam, Calif.) all received the honor.

To qualify for the team, skiers must have a minimum cumulative 3.5 grade point average and participate at one of three the NCAA Regional Championships. Bates hosted the 2019 NCAA East Regional Championship at Sunday River (alpine) and Black Mountain (Nordic).

Bates Nordic ski team members who also received the USCSCA All-Academic recognition were sophomore Zoe McKinney (North Conway, N.H.), senior Samantha Pierce (New Gloucester, Maine) and sophomore Brad Ravenelle (Portland, Maine).

This year's recipients come from 28 teams in all three regions in the United States. In the Eastern Intercollegiate Ski Association, a total of 131 student-athletes were honored from 14 institutions. In the Central Collegiate Ski Association, a total of 51 student-athletes were honored from six teams and in the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association, a total of 96 student-athletes were honored from eight schools.