Six Bobcats named to National Football Foundation's Hampshire Honor Society

Bates seniors Sean Antonuccio, Sam Francis, Tyler Janssen, Andrew Segal, Ryan Spillane and Mark Upton from the Bates football team were honored as members of the 2017 NFF Hampshire Honor Society. (Photos by Janet Ciummei/Northeast Pro Photography)

IRVING, Texas -- Six seniors from the Bates football team were honored Wednesday, as the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced the members of the 2017 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career.

Bates' six honorees are:

  • Sean Antonuccio (Boxford, Mass.), Defensive Line. Major: Economics. Minor: History
  • Sam Francis (Newburyport, Mass.), Linebacker. Majors: Mathematics and Economics.
  • Tyler Janssen (Glastonbury, Conn.), Running Back. Major: Economics.
  • Andrew Segal (Glencoe, Ill.), Defensive Line. Major: Religious Studies. Minors: History and Philosophy.
  • Ryan Spillane (Medfield, Mass.), Running Back. Major: Economics. Minor: Mathematics.
  • Mark Upton (Winthrop, Mass.), Linebacker. Major: Politics. Minor: Rhetoric.

The 1,089 players honored by the NFF in 2017 sets a new high water mark, eclipsing the previous record of 882 honorees in 2016. The 297 schools with members breaks the previous record of 280 in both 2015 and 2016.

The initiative has honored 7,723 student-athletes since its inception, and the program has experienced growth every year in either members or school participation since its launch in 2007.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include: being a starter or a significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university; achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and meeting all NCAA/NAIA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

Learn more at