Maine basketball coaches honor Reilly, Ray and Stockwell

Joe Reilly

Zak Ray '07

Rob Stockwell '07

LEWISTON, Maine -- Bates College men's basketball coach Joe Reilly was named Coach of the Year, and juniors Zak Ray and Rob Stockwell each were voted First Team All-State, as the Maine Men's Basketball Coaches Association postseason awards were announced Monday.

In his ninth season as head coach at Bates, Reilly led the Bobcats to their highest win total in school history, with a 20-6 record. Bates was unanimously voted the No. 1 team in Maine in each week of the MMBCA poll during the 2005-06 season. This is the second time Reilly has earned the MMBCA award -- he did so after the 2003-04 season as well. Reilly was also earlier honored as the 2005-06 NESCAC Coach of the Year.

Ray (Bangor, Maine), a team co-captain, was one of the premier defenders in the NESCAC, and led the conference in steals per game (2.50). He was also fourth in assists (5.38 apg), 12th in free-throw percentage (.750) and 19th in scoring (12.4 ppg). Ray netted a career-high 30 points in Bates' final game, a loss to Amherst in the NESCAC semifinal. Ray was also voted to the All-NESCAC Second Team and the All-Northeast Region Third Team.

Stockwell (Temple, N.H.) was the eighth-leading scorer in the NESCAC, at 15.8 points per game, and he ranked second in rebounding with 9.8 boards per game. On Jan. 27 at home against Connecticut College, Stockwell became the 26th Bates man to reach the 1,000-point plateau. He has since climbed into 19th place on the all-time Bates scoring list, with 1,115 points. Stockwell was also voted to the All-NESCAC Second Team and the All-Northeast Region First Team this season.

Joining Stockwell and Ray on the All-State First Team were Colby center Drew Cohen, Husson forward Buddy Leavitt and Bowdoin forward Kyle Petrie. Petrie was voted Player of the Year, and Thomas's Aecio Madeira was named Rookie of the Year.