Stockwell, Ray earn Northeast Region honors from

Rob Stockwell '07

Zak Ray '07

STERLING, Va. -- has announced the fifth annual All-Region team for Division III basketball, and Bates juniors Rob Stockwell and Zak Ray made the men's Northeast Region team.

Stockwell, a 6-5 forward from Temple, N.H., was named to the Northeast Region First Team, while Ray, a 5-10 point guard from Bangor, Maine, was named to the Third Team. Stockwell was named to the Third Team last season, and Ray made the Second Team.

Stockwell led the Bobcats in scoring (15.8 ppg) and rebounding (9.8 rpg), and was eighth and second, respectively, in those categories in the NESCAC. On Jan. 27 at home against Connecticut College, Stockwell became the 26th Bates man to reach the 1,000-point plateau. He has since climbed into 19th place on the all-time Bates scoring list, with 1,115 points.

Ray led the NESCAC in steals at 2.50 per game, and also was fourth in assists (5.38 apg), 12th in free-throw percentage (.750) and 19th in scoring (12.4 ppg). Ray netted a career-high 30 points in Bates' final game, a loss to Amherst in the NESCAC semifinal, and served as team co-captain.

Players were nominated by the Sports Information Directors at the various schools, who were contacted several times as the season wound down to remind them to make their players eligible. A total of 599 players were nominated nationwide.

The ballot was then made available to SIDs, who voted for 10 players in their region. SIDs voted for six frontcourt players and four backcourt players and the top vote-getters at each position were named to the All-Region team.

"We are thankful to the Sports Information Directors across Division III who took the time to nominate and vote to provide broader recognition to these worthy student-athletes," said publisher Pat Coleman. "Their continued help and participation is integral to the All-Region team and everything else we do."

A regional Player of the Year and Coach of the Year were selected in each region for the first time, the Player of the Year as the top vote-getter in each region and the Coach of the Year in consultation with regional members.