Bates rowing wins men's and women's races at CBB Chase

OAKLAND, Maine -- The Bates College men's and women's rowing teams won both of the varsity eight races on Saturday at the CBB Chase, hosted by Colby on Messalonskee Lake.

The Bates men's 'A' crew had a time of 10 minutes, 11 seconds in winning the event, nine seconds ahead of runner-up Colby. The boat's lineup comprises: senior coxswain Gabe Silverman ’11 (West Hartford, Conn.), Peter K. Miller ’12 (Philadelphia, Pa.), Peter Haley ’13 (Cos Cob, Conn.), Peter C. Miller ’12 (New York, N.Y.), Andre Gobbo ’13 (Chesterfield, N.H.), Jordy Winslow ’13 (Wilton, Conn.), Jason Weeks ’11 (Hyde Park, Mass.), Joseph Nowak ’11 (Brunswick, Maine), and Matt Johns ’13 (Seaford, N.Y.).

The Bates 'A' women took a victory in 11:43 and was followed by the Bobcat 'C' boat in 12:28. This year’s crew is composed of senior coxswain Nora Collins (Kensington, Md.), sophomore Catherine Tuttle (Pittsford, N.Y.), junior Haley Sive (Glenville, N.Y.), senior Rebecca Waldo (Dracut, Mass.), junior Kelsey Dion (Truckee, Calif.), senior Emma White (Bainbridge Island, Wash.), senior Hannah Richardson (Concord, Mass.), sophomore Lauren Hadiaris (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) and senior Ellen Patterson (St. Louis Park, Minn.).

The Bates crews finish up the abbreviated fall season on Saturday at the Green Monster regatta, hosted by Dartmouth.

Men's Varsity 8
Bates A 10:11

Colby A 10:20

Colby B 10:26

Bowdoin A 10:43

Bates B 11:23

Colby C 11:27

Women's Varsity
Bates A 11:43

Bates C 12:28

Colby A 12:32

Bowdoin A 13:43

Bates B 13:59

Bates D 14:21

Colby B 14:25