Champion rowing teams, coach Steenstra dominate NESCAC All-Conference honors

The Bates rowing teams' 12 All-NESCAC selections for 2017 are, left to right starting at the top, Rosemary Kyne, Molly Pritz, Erik Divan, William Lehrer, Olivia Stockly, Katherine Traquina, Roderick Pratt, Benjamin Whitehead, Laura Rand, Lena Rintell, Daniel Sparks and Mats Terwiesch. (Photos by Rene Roy for Bates College)

HADLEY, Mass. -- Bates College's NESCAC champion men's and women's rowing teams led all schools with six all-conference selections apiece, while head coach Peter Steenstra was named both Men's and Women's Coach of the Year, as the New England Small College Athletic Conference announced its 2017 All-Conference Rowing Teams on Wednesday.

Steenstra swept both men's and women's Coach of the Year awards for the second time in his nine-year tenure at Bates. He pulled off the same feat in 2015, when Bates also won both the men's and women's conference titles.

Bates men's rowing captured its second NESCAC title on Saturday at the National Invitational Rowing Championships with the team's varsity eight outracing Williams in the MV8 grand final. 

Six members of that boat received all-conference nods: senior captain Erik Divan (Riverhead, N.Y.), senior William Lehrer (Winchester, Mass.), junior Roderick Pratt (Arlington, Mass.) and senior coxswain Benjamin Whitehead (Shaker Heights, Ohio) were named to the First Team, while juniors Daniel Sparks (Simsbury, conn.) and captain Mats Terwiesch (Wynnewood, Pa.) landed on the Second Team. It is the third All-NESCAC honor in Sparks' three-year career, and Divan's second.

The Bates women's varsity eight swept its competition at the NIRC regatta last Friday to capture the Bobcats' third NESCAC team championship and win an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Championships.

Senior coxswain Katherine Traquina (Wayland, Mass.) led the way with her third All-NESCAC selection and the second First Team nod of her career. She was joined as a First Team All-NESCAC selection by junior Rosemary Kyne (Nashville, Tenn.), senior Molly Pritz (Ithaca, N.Y.) and junior Olivia Stockly (Cumberland, Maine). Junior Laura Rand (Barrington, R.I.) and sophomore Lena Rintell (Brookline, Mass.) received Second Team All-NESCAC awards.

The No. 1 nationally ranked Bates women are preparing for their 11th consecutive NCAA Championship regatta, taking place May 26-27 at Mercer Lake, N.J. 

NESCAC 2017 Men's & Women's Rowing All-Conference Teams Released (PDF)