Men's rowing wins fourth NESCAC title with strong performance at NIRCs

The Bates men's rowing team won its fourth NESCAC title in the last five years Sunday at the National Invitational Rowing Championships. (Theophil Syslo/Bates College)

WORCESTER, Mass. -- The Bates men's rowing team won its third consecutive NESCAC title with another strong showing Sunday at the 2019 National Invitational Rowing Championships.

The Bobcat men move into a tie with Trinity for second-most NESCAC titles, with four apiece. And in Sunday's first varsity eight grand final, only the Bantams stood in the Bobcats' way. None of the other NESCAC schools qualified for the grand final.

Bates out-paced Trinity 6:04.305 to 6:17.287 to take home the championship. The Bates 1V finished fourth overall, just two seconds behind third-place Marist. Hobart won the race and earned an automatic bid to the the IRA national championships with a time of 6:00.049.

The Bates men also competed in the second varsity eight and third varsity eight races on Sunday. After winning its heat, the second varsity eight placed third in the grand final with a time of 6:12.105, less than a second behind runner-up Michigan. Hobart won the race with a time of 6:07.617.

In the third varsity eight race, the Bobcats placed third in their heat and sixth in the grand final, finishing with a time of 6:25.556.

Barring an at-large invitation to IRAs, the National Invitational Rowing Championships is the final regatta of the year for the men's rowing team.

Bates MV8 lineup: Bow: Kento Kaijima; 2: Maxwell Milavetz; 3: Steven Sparks; 4: Maxwell Cavallaro; 5: Kevin Downing; 6: William Crate; 7: Julian Stolper; Stroke: Eric Jordan; c: Ariel Lee

Bates M2V8 lineup: Bow: Robert Sobolewski; 2: Jasper Tucker; 3: Jackson Cote; 4: Espen Wheeler; 5: William Langhoff; 6: Trevor Fry; 7: Christopher Novak; Stroke: Constantine Gregoire; c: Holland Doyle

Bates M3V8 lineup: Bow: Joseph Inger; 2: Hugh Gorman; 3: Jaimin Keliihoomalu; 4: Thomas Monahan; 5: Duncan MacGregor; 6: Jack Fruechte; 7: Nadav Shenkar; Stroke: Xavier Fallone; c: Aidan Temperino