Four women's track athletes receive USTFCCCA All-Academic honors

Imani Boggan and three Bates teammates received USTFCCCA All-Academic honors on July 26, 2018. (File photo by Tom Leonard '78)

NEW ORLEANS -- Four members of the Bates women's track and field team earned USTFCCCA All-Academic honors during the 2017-18 track & field seasons, announced Thursday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

Bates' awardees were rising seniors Ayden Eickhoff (Corvallis, Mont.) and Sarah Rothmann (Andover, Mass.), as well as rising sophomores Imani Boggan (Lafayette, Calif.) and So Kim (Thornhill, Ontario). Both Eickhoff and Rothmann earned the same honor one year ago.

To qualify for USTFCCCA All-Academic honors, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative GPA of 3.30 and must have met at least one of the following athletic standards: Competed in an NCAA Indoor or Outdoor Championship; Finished the regular season ranked in the national top-50 in an individual event or ranked in the national top-35 in a relay event on the official NCAA Descending Order List.

Boggan, Eickhoff, Kim, and Rothmann teamed up as the 29th-ranked distance medley relay team in the indoor season. Eickhoff also qualified for the honor athletically in the indoor 800 meters (12th), the indoor mile (33rd) and the outdoor 800 meters (29th), and she won her third career All-America honor by placing fourth in the 800 at indoor nationals in March.