Richardson, LaMarche, Hartshorn receive All-NESCAC cross country honors

Jillian Richardson (left) and Olivia LaMarche (center) were both named All-NESCAC while head coach Jay Hartshorn (right) was named NESCAC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year on Nov. 5, 2019. (File photos by Phyllis Graber Jensen/Bates College)

HADLEY, Mass. -- Bates first-year Jillian Richardson and senior captain Olivia LaMarche were officially named All-NESCAC, while head coach Jay Hartshorn was named NESCAC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year on Tuesday as the New England Small College Athletic Conference announced its 2019 all-conference awards in cross country.

Richardson (Auburn, Maine) and LaMarche (Lynnfield, Mass.) gave Bates an All-NESCAC duo for the fourth consecutive year with their performances at Saturday's NESCAC Championships, hosted by Williams College, by both finishing among the top 8-14 individuals in the conference championship race. Richardson placed ninth out of 146 runners, finishing the 6-kilometer course in 22:45.5, to become Bates' first All-NESCAC rookie since the 1990s. LaMarche finished in 22:55.4, good for 14th place and her second career All-NESCAC award, following her eighth-place finish in 2017.

Hartshorn was recognized by peer coaches as NESCAC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year for the second time in the past four seasons, as Bates finished in third place at the meet, matching the 2016 team with its best conference finish since 1987. Despite the loss of two two-time All-NESCAC runners to graduation, the Bobcats have come through with an impressive 2019 campaign, rising to No. 16 in the Division III national rankings in the last poll two weeks ago.

Along with the No. 24 nationally ranked Bates men's team, the Bobcats are aiming for strong performances at NCAA Regionals on Nov. 16, in hopes of returning to the NCAA Championships for a second straight year.

2019 NESCAC Cross Country All-Conference Teams Announced